Sauteed Rockfish

rockfish - title
When I first moved to the Seattle area from the suburbs of Philadelphia I developed an appreciation for the bounty of the sea because of the wonderful, fresh seafood in the Pacific Northwest. I made sure that the first seafood cookbook I purchased was filled with easy, delicious, nutritious recipes. And I’ve been making this recipe from that book for close to 30 years now. As you likely already know from your own experience, many fish recipes also use dairy and eggs. Luckily, there are just as many recipes that work at Positive Kitchen. For those of you who do eat fish I hope you’ll try this recipe. And of course you can alter it significantly by adding some of your favorite flavor foods such as artichoke hearts, roasted peppers and any special seasonings that you enjoy.

Sautéed rockfish with mushrooms and onions

Yield: 4 servings
Prep time: 15 minutes
Cooking time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ pounds rockfish filets or other firm thick mild fish
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 onion thinly sliced
  • ¾ pound mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons earth balance margarine or butter if you can eat dairy
  • 2 tablespoons vermouth or dry white wine
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Optional: sun-dried tomatoes, sliced into small slivers, pitted and sliced kalamata olives, chopped
    marinated artichoke hearts, thinly sliced shallot

Directions:

  1. Dry fish fillets with paper towels. Sprinkle both sides of fish with salt and pepper.
  2. Sauté onion in 1 tablespoon olive oil in large skillet. Set onions aside.
  3. Sauté mushrooms in same skillet and when done place with onions.
  4. Sauté garlic and shallot if using. Place with mushrooms and onions.
  5. Place second tablespoon of olive oil in skillet and sauté fish briefly on both sides until lightly golden.
  6. Add onions, mushrooms, garlic and shallot on top of fish fillets in pan. Dot with Earth Balance, pour vermouth over the top. Add optional ingredients at this time.
  7. Simmer gently with the lid on for five minutes. Remove lid and continue simmering. Continue to move onions and mushrooms around making sure that the sauce is spooned over the fillets as they cook.
  8. Cook until fish flakes with fork.
  9. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  10. Serve with rice or potatoes.

rockfish - sautee fish

rockfish - with mushrooms

Please share your favorite seafood recipes below and on our Pinterest page!

3 thoughts on “Sauteed Rockfish

  1. Shari—

    As I told you, I had been waiting about 30 years, since I first learned of my allergies, to have your recipes. I appreciate things like your sautéed Rockfish recipe because, in those 30 plus years, I developed a pre diabetic condition, so the goodies are a very rare treat. (They are so delicious that it is good I have wait for my helpers to make them.) Even the marvelous breads are so good they qualify as a treat.
    I hope you are continuing to recover well from your accident and surgery. As a Feldenkrais practitioner, I recommend your looking up one in your area. Jeff Haller in the Bellevue area is a master. He taught me to use my arm and enabled me to avoid surgery after I tore my supraspinatus muscle loose. He has a website, jeff@insidemoves.org or his phone, (425) 502-8346
    You are doing marvelous work for many people who need your help. May you live on and prosper.

  2. hi Pat, thank you very much for your comment. I am happy to report that I making significant progress in my rehab. Its going to be a long road to regain full use of my left arm but at this point I’m allowed to carry up to 12 pounds in each arm and I can lift my arm over my head and do regular chores with no pain. I’m aware of Feldenkrais and of Jeff. It also helps that my daughter is a physical therapist.

Join the collaboration!

